The Funny Thing Is…

It’s another one of those deep, thoughtful nights I’m having. On this particular night, it’s fate. I am a firm believer in fate/karma/whatever is meant to be will be, and I’m wondering how or why it works. Why do we meet certain people? Why do we friend request this person on Facebook? What makes us think, hey, maybe there’s a chance here? What gets the other person to accept the friend request and write a message back? It’s crazy these things. I could have easily left the friend request unsent, and always just daydream about it. They could have denied my request and/or accepted my request and never sent a message, but instead they did. They accepted and wrote back. Why?

I’m not a religious person, I’m more of a believe whatever you want to believe and that’s fine by me. But in moments I can’t help but think, is there a fate or a destiny laid out for each and every one of us? Are things really supposed to happen or do we just over think it all and made this all up out of nothing? Maybe there is something out there bigger than all of us. I get some people come into our lives to teach us lessons, but… there’s got to be more to it than that. Right? 

Maybe it’s not going to work out with country boy, and that’s fine by me. Maybe it just wasn’t meant to be with him, and that’s whoever’s way of telling me that. Telling me that right now, it’s not a good fit. Maybe I sent that friend request because somebody or something out there is telling me to go in that direction. I want fate to lead me in the direction of going to hockey games with a guy, nights in watching The Big Bang Theory, to innocent, sweet, playful kisses and corny jokes. But is fate going to do that? Who knows. I’m just along for the ride. While fate is working it’s magic right now, I’m waiting for something big to happen. The funny thing about fate is, you never know what exactly it’s going to do. Maybe that’s the beautiful mystery of life though. 

With all the love in my body, 

whiskeyinateacupp xo

Leave a Reply

