Optimism vs. Pessimism

I miss all of you so so so much! I’m sorry I’ve been MIA for the past couple of weeks but life has been so busy and I’ve had lots of school work and life to tend to! I’ve thought about all of you while I was off the computer though and will be catching up on your lives soon! ❤ 

So, Friday night. I was out with a couple of really good friends, and everything was going great. We were all laughing, messing around with each other, joking and then I was driving us home. My best friend was sitting in the front with me, and then my other good friend was in the backseat. She had told him how she was talking to a guy from his school and she really thought he was a good guy and that she could like him and she’s into him. 

Then, my friend in the backseat… we’ll call him J, spoke up. My best friend and I had been talking about how there were so many crappy guys in our town and we hadn’t met a good guy yet, and so when she met him she grabbed a hold of him because he seems like a truly, deep down good guy. I’ve met him and I approve, he is so nice. 

Well, J spoke his mind. J has a background, a not so good one at that. People have hurt him, let him down, his family/home life isn’t that good, so we’re thinking that has a play in this. But what he said really got me thinking, fighting an internal battle, still up until today on Sunday. 

He said that deep down in all guys, they’re all the same. They are all bad guys deep down and eventually, the bad side will show itself. He was saying that a guy, or even girls will show their best side for the first few months just to get into our pants, and then they won’t be so nice and kind anymore. He said they’ll fake it and tell us what we want to hear just to get laid. All of the guys, not just a few, all of them. J and I are very open and honest with each other and I told him that was a very cynical way of thinking about people, and that I didn’t believe him. 

J then brought up that the guy my best friend is talking to cheated on his ex-girlfriend. My best friend asked the guy about it, and he told her straight up he did and it was because him and his ex had been arguing a lot. Him being honest about it has got to say something, right? 

So I was stuck in my thoughts that night. Not all guys have to be bad guys deep down. Nobody is perfect and everybody has their moments, but will a guy really just say what a girl wants to hear to get into her pants? I may be optimistic, and he may be pessimistic but there’s got to be a line somewhere in between. It can’t be true. I refuse to believe that every guy will eventually treat their girl badly. 

I would like to hear your thoughts on this! 

With all the love in my body, 

whiskeyinateacupp xo

2 thoughts on “Optimism vs. Pessimism”

  1. I do not think all guys are bad and this coming from me whose first experience with men was a psychopathic child molester. Needless to say I have trust issues. Some men really will say whatever it takes to get laid but usually they are not so clever that you can’t figure it out. Unfortunately some of them are very skillful manipulators and we all fall for one of those eventually. In my experience a truly psychopathic guy will not accept responsibility for his actions and will probably employ guilt tactics. He will say exactly what you want to hear one minute and the next make snide remarks that cut you down to size. Look out for guys who talk smack about their exes or who praise their exes excessively. If you ever hear the guy disrespecting a female even if she is of questionable character it is a bad sign. Obviously he won’t like everyone but if he is vicious in his dislike that is warning. If he makes sexual advances to multiple girls that is sign that he just wants casual sex, if a guy really likes a girl he will focus on getting to know her, he isn’t going to have 12 other girls primed and ready just encase he strikes out. I have been married 13 years to a good guy. He is not perfect but he is loving, honest, and loyal

Leave a Reply

