The Other Side of Fear

ImageToday, I stepped outside of my comfort zone. 

I took that little, itty bitty leap of faith. 

I just went for it. 

They say everything you want is on the other side of fear. Which I believe is true. 

I’m not sure if it comes across on my blog or not, but a good amount of the time I actually am shy. Especially to guys I find attractive, ones who I don’t know. Once I break out of my comfort zone though, it’s like there’s no stopping me. 

My best friend and I were at Hobby Lobby the other day just looking around and admiring the Christmas decorations when out of nowhere… this very cute guy who works there walked by. Oh lordy. We both exchanged smiles, and not just the polite type of smile. 

By the way, for those of you who have not been to Hobby Lobby… you must. It is a very addicting store. 

Anyways, we went back there today to buy supplies for a class we’re in and the guy I laid my eyes on was working the register. So naturally, we waited in his line. As we got up to pay, he was talking with us, asking where we went to school, and saying where he went. And he was giving me that smile again. So we finished paying, and as he handed me my receipt, I said it. One tiny little sentence that for me, seemed impossible to do to a stranger who I found attractive. 

“Thanks, cutie.” 

Something so simple. But somehow so big to me. I was joking around with my best friend while we were in line waiting for our turn that I would say that, and had been planning on saying it since the first time I saw him. I had been thinking about saying it since he asked me if I needed help and to have a great day the first time I saw him. 

My friend turned around laughing because she didn’t think I would actually do it. 

Truthfully, I didn’t think I was going to either but somehow it just slipped out. 

I just went for it without overthinking about it. 

But I couldn’t even look him in the eye as I said it, just smiled, grabbing the stuff and walking out. 

I heard him say, “Thank you.” Whatever that means, I hope it means something good. I looked back at him and he was smiling and laughing also. 

To me, that was out of my comfort zone and I’m glad I did it. I’m glad I took the risk. I would have worried and fretted about not saying anything to him. 

Hopefully he doesn’t think I’m a freak. Uh oh. 

But I encourage everybody to take some risks sometimes. Sometimes it really pays off. The biggest regrets I’ve found that I have, are when I haven’t taken the risks. 

With all the love in my body,

whiskeyinateacupp xo

4 thoughts on “The Other Side of Fear”

    1. exactly! it really does! i agree! and its like you know me so well! hahaha i actually went back in today, cause conveniently my friend had to go get her supplies, so we naturally went to where he was working and looked at the things there, and he struck up a little convo with us, then he went back to his work, then later as we were waiting in line, he left the store and looked back at me and smiled twice, while i was looking at him unfortunately! its going slowly but surely hopefuly! hahaha

  1. Ahh loves it! I absolutely love those moments. You should never let those pass you up! Especially letting a good looking man know he’s good looking haha. Honestly, sometimes I just throw a little wink at them. Probably creepy. But I honestly don’t care. You go girl!

    1. me too! theyre so thrilling! and they give you something to laugh about (: and right? everybody needs some lovin! and hey if you can wink go for it! i look so terrible winking so i stay away from that, i say you keep on winking until they look at you like youre a creep if not then do your thang (; haha

Leave a Reply

