Kill ‘Em With Confidence

A friend of mine told me I should blog about some uplifting pieces, to girls possibly going through the same thing that I have been through and I’ve been thinking it’s a good idea, since I don’t really do much of those. In high school, I actually wrote a research paper on this subject because I am very passionate about it. 

When you look at a girl, when you really look into her eyes… sometimes you get a tiny, little glimpse of what she is actually going through. On the outside, most people can’t even tell because she smiles and it seems like everything is okay. She seems put together and happy. But on the inside, it’s chaos. She’s trying her hardest not to break down at any second. All it could take to break her down is the smallest thing, something so nontrivial as if the drop of a pin, or a word nonchalantly spoken. I’ve been there, I’ve been in the position where one small word has broken me down and I just start crying. 

In this case, let’s talk about the stress about our looks. Every single day. Men have some idea, but they really have no idea about the pressure. Magazines, films, TV, advertisements, you name it, put out these expectations of what we should look like. We should look like this extremely skinny, big-boobed, amazing ass, tight stomach lady with perfect hair and makeup that looks airbrushed. 

Excuse me? 

No. And then they try to say “love your body and the skin you’re in”. Bull-shizz. I don’t think so. Can we put a real person on a magazine cover? If they’re so into the whole love your body and the skin you’re in thing, then why can’t they not photoshop a picture? Why don’t they put pounds of makeup on? Why don’t they leave the hair as it is? Why don’t they actually eat a burger? Not just one bite, a whole burger. 

I’ve been in the situation where I am envious of the girls in the magazines, or how I wish to look like them. I was there for years. It’s hard not to have those moments where you feel that way. But then I realized something. The girls in the magazines don’t even look like themselves. They have so much makeup on, so much editing done that it’s not “real”. There is only one way to look like them… photo shop the hell out of yourself, which I don’t recommend doing. If somebody doesn’t like you for the way you look, you don’t need them. They’re superficial. There’s more to people that what’s on the outside. Nobody is perfect in this world, not even close.

You don’t need to look like the women in magazines, look like a REAL person. Men dig that more than they dig somebody whose bones pop out in every which way with pounds of makeup on.

And here’s another thing: barbies. I admit, I was one of the girls who wanted to look like a barbie. I was the girl who played with them, as most girls do. But then I did some research which upset me deeply.

The pressure for girls to be skinny and perfect starts a lot younger than it should, even though it shouldn’t at any age. It’s unbelievable and disgusting.

If barbie was to be made into a real person same height, weight, structure and everything, she would die. That’s right. Her stomach isn’t big enough to fit the necessary organs that we need to live inside of her. Her boobs are too big and her back would have major problems due to this. Her feet are too tiny to support her body. This is terrible. Why are we subliminally putting this into little girls’ brains? We don’t need this.

So to wrap this post up, love yourself for who you are. Don’t workout to be skinny or to look perfect, workout to be healthy. There’s a difference. Everybody’s bodies are different. Your weight depends on your height and your bone structure. Not everybody is made to be 100 pounds. Besides, curves are amazing! Especially when you love them and can work them!

You might not believe me, but there ARE guys who love curves. They don’t only just go for girls who are insanely skinny. Guys do have preferences though, just as girls do. But there will be somebody out there who will love every inch of you.

Be happy. Be confident. Put on some amazing clothes and work it like no other. Embrace your crazy hair because let’s face it, hair has a mind of it’s own. My hair is messy, curly/wavy and very thick naturally, not something most people want. But it’s what I have to work with, and somebody out there will love it and put up with it for me. 

Love yourself. Please, I beg you. Starving yourself and plastic surgery isn’t worth it. Believe it, especially coming from a girl who went through an eating disorder. You don’t need it. 

Most importantly, just be real and confident. 

With all the love in my body, 

whiskeyinateacupp xo

6 thoughts on “Kill ‘Em With Confidence”

  1. To the majority of this: thumbs up. However, I will play devil’s advocate and posit that although it’s optimistic to suggest that people should work out to be healthy, nobody actually does. My motivations for working out are 100% narcissistic. I work out because I love looking at myself in the mirror after a workout. That “I’d fuck me” feeling is the whole reason people work out. Seems shitty, but I think it’s great for one’s ego and self-confidence. Health is a reason for working out too, but it’s largely a byproduct of the act rather than the main reason for it.

    1. okay, i see where you’re coming from! alot of people do workout to look good! i mean that is another reason, its a huge reason and i completely agree with it!
      but what i meant by that was to workout to look good/be healthy rather than workout to the point where its unhealthy for yourself (: you know what i mean? to over workout and all that!

  2. Great post, girl. I get Mike’s point about working out. It’s definitely good to workout for a little ego boost, but yes, not to the point where it’s unhealthy. If only people who over did it knew that working out for more than 2 hours a day does absolutely NOTHING more than not doing it.

    It definitely sucks being a girl. I’m an adult and STILL have body issues from time to time. I’m not one of those lucky people that can eat whatever I want and not gain a pound. The sad thing is, I probably eat and work out better than half the girls with a perfect body. But whatever. I think my imperfection makes me the person who I am and I love that person. That’s the key. Loving yourself regardless of those imperfections. Great topic!

    1. thanks (: and exactly! its good for the ego, but the most important part is to not over do it!
      and it does suck being a girl, and im with you in that boat! i could look at something and gain weight, but it takes me a year to lose that one pound! haha kidding, girls have it so hard! especially for girls like us who gain weight with one bite!
      those damn girls who can eat anything they want! i had a friend like that, she was around 100 pounds naturally and ate anything and everything and barely gained any weight at all
      and exactly, imperfection is what makes you you (: and we do have to love ourselves for it!

Leave a Reply

