Changing the World One Starbucks At a Time

There are good people in this world. 

I think we need a little bit more of them, to be honest with you. So many people out there just don’t care about anybody else and are so focused in their own little minds. 

There’s a thing called the bystander effect, where if a person is getting beaten up, or there’s a fire or crash or some type of accident, the people watching or driving by most of the time will not call it in. This is due to the fact that they always think somebody else is going to call in about it, so they don’t. Sometimes that works out, sometimes it doesn’t. 

But my personal experience with good people today is at Starbucks. I went to go order my drink and I gave the barista my card to swipe, he swiped it. Well apparently, there was nothing on my card. Which is weird because just a couple days ago there was money on it, only 13 dollars at the moment, but still. Don’t laugh. Broke college student here! Anyways, I told him nevermind and I went to sit back down. I went back up because my friend let me use some money on her gift card, and just as I was about to pay, the barista making the drink called out my order. He told me he was going to give it to me anyways, but I still ended up paying. 

Image

 

How sweet is that? I told School boy because I was so caught off guard by this act of kindness, and he says he thinks the barista has a thing for me. I don’t know if that’s true, or if it’s because I’m a regular here. Either way, whoever gives out free Starbucks deserves the award for most amazing person on the planet. Because there’s only one thing better than Starbucks. Free Starbucks. Am I right? Or am I just making myself sound even more like a white girl? Kidding. 

A couple weeks ago, on black Friday, in the morning I was coming up to my car and somebody put this note on my window. 

Image

It’s amazing how one little thing can brighten up somebody’s day. This world needs more people like this. People like this inspire me to do those things back. Because we never know how close somebody is to giving up on life, and just a simple little note can save them. 

I want to start doing things like this. Some people have such good hearts and they never get any credit for it. 

So, really. Thank you people for making this world a brighter place! 

Because Starbucks always makes people happy. Well, at least me anyways. 

I’m a Starbucks addict, but that’s a whole other story. 

With all the love in my body, 

whiskeyinateacupp xo

11 thoughts on “Changing the World One Starbucks At a Time”

      1. Sure they can, and many times they are, but sometimes you can get more out of the nice gesture. It all depends on the situation whether an ulterior motive arises.

  1. I love stories like this where people are nice to each other with no apparent motive for gain. Do you ever go through the Starbucks drive thru? Some time you should pay for the person behind you (you always hope they didn’t just order like $40 worth of stuff though….) it’s a fun way to non-awkwardly pass on this sort of quality human interaction.

Leave a Reply

