Like A Ton of Bricks

As I was sitting on the couch with School Boy tonight, conversation was flowing out. We even talked about our exes. 

Later, as I was sitting down and recapping everything that happened while he was here, it hit me like a ton of bricks. We were talking about our EXES. 

My ex. 

My EX. 

I’m moving on. I’m looking into relationships with other guys. Guys that aren’t him. It’s not just a fling or a booty call for me, these guys are actual potential boyfriends. And my ex is becoming a thing of the past. 

There’s no more running back to him. There’s no more letting him have this control over me, and me being weak for him. 

It was strange to talk about an ex with a potential boyfriend. This is a first for me. 

In a way, it felt kind of… like a weight lifted off of my shoulders, while at the same time so strange. 

Life is actually moving on and rolling. 

I had somewhat wanted to keep in touch with my ex every now and then, but I realized on Thanksgiving… he can be a douche bag and I don’t need that. I texted him 3 AM, Black Friday, to wish him a happy Thanksgiving, knowing he would be up. I had been busy with family and shopping before that, so I didn’t want to start a conversation with him while I was going to be busy. 

He responded back with “Why are you texting me this the day after?”. What the hell? I’m trying to be nice here. So I tell him I was busy, and he responds back with “Oh, okay. Well thanks I guess” or something to that effect, and I say no problem. Then he asks me what the point was of me texting him and I tell him to be nice, and that he doesn’t need to be acting like a jerk because I’m just trying to be nice. He comes back at me with “I’ll do whatever I want, thanks”. I don’t even think I answered him back. 

I don’t need that in my life. I’m not going to try to be nice to him anymore and wish him well on holidays. He can forget that if he’s going to be an asshole back. 

So really, with this whole life moving on thing? It feels good. I’m embracing it. 

I’m getting new experiences under my belt. 

With all the love in my body, 

whiskeyinatteacupp xo

7 thoughts on “Like A Ton of Bricks”

  1. Yeah,an ex is an ex for a reason. That text was probably a good thing. Make it easier to move on and know that you made the right decision.

  2. I know a couple of friends who will talk to their exes now and then . It’s NEVER good. Either they do something or say something that makes them feel like shot or you get jealous of any girls who have their attention. These friends will tell me it’s “too hard” to let go of someone who took up so many years of their lives. I personally think staying in touch with exes causes more hell then they’re worth.

    I’m glad you can positively say you’re moving on with life and love. Even though it will often be tough, I’m sure your future is bright.

  3. I would be the first to say that your “ex” can sometimes be that because you where not ready at the time. But most of the time your “ex” is no longer your “one” because you are better without them. It’s only appealing because it’s familiar. Breaking away from the comfort zone is well for lack of a better word uncomfortable.

    Moving forward is always the best thing you can do. You will always brake through and come out stronger because you are a strong person learning from your life choices 🙂

    1. yeah he’s no longer the one, it just wasnt right with him anymore. we all do have to break away from our comfort zone because sometimes thats where everything great is!
      and yes, what doesnt kill us makes us stronger!

  4. I haven’t really moved on like you have although at times I wish I could. I really envy your ability to look past the way he acted bc my ex would have sounded the exact same no joke. Proud of you! Keep it up. -K

    1. it takes time dont worry (: our lives are different so we all move at different paces (:
      and im kinda used to it by now, that isn’t even really bad for him, thats his normal temper unfortunately. and really? crazy! dont you just want to slap them sometimes? kidding! haha… kind of, but thank you so much (:

Leave a Reply

