Just A Second

All it takes is one second for your whole world to change. Some people may think that that amount of time is too short for something life changing to happen, but I beg to differ. 

Sometimes all we need is one second. And in that second, our minds go on over drive. Or maybe they just focus on one thing intently and instantly have made up their minds. Better yet, they just let go of their minds and let their heart take over. 

One second is all we need to do something amazing. Maybe it’s not even our minds that take up that one second, but what somebody else says to us. Take the examples of 

“It’s over.” 

or 

“I love you.” 

Those two things make or break us. All they take is a second to say. With that one second, that path we’re on can take a sharp right turn into the great unknown. We all have that one second, that we can think of, where suddenly our life wasn’t the same anymore. Both for the good and for the bad. 

The turning point in my life was a little after I broke up with my ex. Through all of the fighting, all of the pent up emotions inside of me. The loathing, the anger, the confusion, the pain, the crying. It was like a volcano ready to explode at any minute. With just a few words of my ex, fighting words, I went off. I was done with that, I was done with being that person towards him. So in that second, I knew what I had to do. Before I thought about what or how or where I was going to do it, I got up and made my way to a soda bottle he had given me to try. It was a flavor from Harry Potter, a movie I love so much. I grabbed the bottle, opened up the garage and marched outside. I hadn’t bothered to put on shoes or anything. I walked down the sidewalk to the last place I had seen him, where he parked his car most of the time and with a heave of throbbing emotional pain and everything in me that hated him, I threw that bottle with a force down into the street. 

As the bottle left my hand, the cap scratched me. It was all a blur before my eyes and it happened all so fast. I already felt a little more relieved in that moment the bottle left my hand. The scratch burned a little, but it didn’t matter. Right before my eyes, the explosion of liquid and glass flew across the street. A piece of glass managing to hit my foot. The explosion was how I felt, and it felt good to do that. To let go of that anger and pain pent up inside me. I was through with the harsh fighting and bitter words that felt like frost bite. 

It was done and I walked back to the house. 

Just a second is all it took, for everything from four and a half years, to be finalized and done. 

Gone. 

Splattered across the street, just like my emotions. Just like the situation. But that didn’t matter anymore. Because in that one second, that bottle was the relationship. It was the kisses, the hugs, the love, the pointless bickering and memories. 

One second is all we need to make a situation right, to let go of a person or to relieve ourselves of everything inside of us. Our lives aren’t just measured by hours, days, weeks, months or years. All of those are built upon moments, upon seconds. Why? 

Because all it takes is a look, a glance, a smile, a word, a “hello” and a “goodbye”. 

With all the love in my body, 

whiskeyinateacupp xo

9 thoughts on “Just A Second”

  1. It’s crazy how something like throwing a glass bottle really can relieve so many of those feelings… I had a similar thing earlier… where I was super bothered by some recent not so great things and I’m not even kidding I just had to drive in my car and blare Katy Perry “Firework” and sing super loudly and badly. I texted my boyfriend afterwards that I felt better and he was like “really? that’s what it took, after hours?”
    Yep.

    1. right? at least were not going out and shooting people! haha but theres something so calming about driving around with the music blasting and singing, even though it might not be “singing” hahaha i relate to that, its like therapy!

  2. It’s so true! Our lives are built upon seconds and all it takes is ONE to change a life. It’s crazy to think about, but I try not to. Kind of like, enjoy it while it lasts lol

  3. I would like to say that, while you are right, no occurrence can trash past experiences. Whatever happy years you had were worth while. You wouldn’t be you without them. While a second can change the direction you see your life going, they can’t wipe away the good (and bad) experiences that shaped you.

Leave a Reply

