How To Survive Valentine’s Day

It’s that time of the season again. 

Chick flick trailers are coming non-stop on TV, all the chocolate and teddy bears are in stores, everything is pink and red and alive with the magic of l-o-v-e

Valentine’s Day is rapidly approaching and just around the corner for all the cute little lovebirds happily waiting to celebrate it. Getting all dressed up, going to a nice fancy restaurant, opening up presents, maybe a movie and then going back home to some baby makin’ music and getting down with sexy time. Sounds good, right? 

Except for anybody who is single. But lucky for you, I’ve got some how-to advice on how to cope with wanting to strangle cupid and wanting to throw a grenade in the hopes of killing all couples within a five mile radius of you. 

In my opinion, honestly, Valentine’s Day isn’t a big deal for me being single. I’m still happy for everybody who gets to celebrate it with their boyfriend or girlfriend. Good for them and more to ’em! 

This is the second Valentine’s Day I will be single. Personally, I could care less. I don’t NEED a man in my life to make me happy. Never let your happiness depend on a person, like ever. I have always thought this way. I never needed my ex, I wanted him. There’s a difference. You don’t need a person, at least you shouldn’t. You should want them instead. 

Let’s get down to the nitty gritty of dealing with Valentine’s Day as a single. Here are some positives.

-Who needs the stress of trying to find the perfect present? Forget that! That’s pretty self-explanatory. 

-If you’re a single girl on this holiday… consider yourself envied of. While other girls are shaving, putting on a bunch of make up, taking hours to make sure their hair is perfect, trying on twenty different outfits and having their clothes thrown every which way in their room, well you could be saving yourself all this trouble. I’m honestly looking forward to not having to shave or having the stress of looking absolutely amazing. You can be stress-free and all hakuna mutata. Ain’t nobody got time for that. Look like a hot mess if you want to! Besides, the leg hair could keep you warm while the rest of the girls are out freezing their asses off! I say that’s a win by itself. 

– You’ve always got chocolate. Just pound that shit down on Valentine’s day. Stock up before hand, pop in some movies and have a go. You don’t need somebody to buy you chocolate! Empowerment, people! We can buy our own damn chocolate and enjoy it just as much! And also you don’t have to share it with anybody. It’s all yours, baby. 

– Have a girls’ night or boys’ night. I’m hanging with my best friend, maybe going out to dinner and then strolling around in this gorgeous outside mall, or hitting up the beach for the day and eating at some cafe. If you’re with somebody that makes you laugh and you have a good time with them, that’s all that matters. If you’re a girl going out to eat with other girls, then look at it this way. You can eat all the food you want without worrying you look like a pig. 

– Take this day as a day to celebrate YOU. Do whatever you want to do. If you’re single, this is a day to pamper yourself or do what makes you happy. Work out, don’t work out, eat, lay around, don’t shower, take a long bubble bath, watch movies, go out with friends, stay in and have peace and quiet. Consider it your second birthday. 

Sure, Valentine’s Day puts a lot of pressure on people to be in relationships or just to have a Valentine in general. But if you let go of that, then unlike the rest of the world, you have no pressure to do anything at all. 

It’s kind of a relief, actually. 

Sure, we might not have that passionate Valentine’s Day sex or get spoiled with gifts from our partners but… no shaving, people! I don’t know about you, but that excites me. There’s so much work as a girl to get ready. I don’t have to do my makeup all amazing, don’t have to do my hair, don’t have to shave, I can lay around in pretty much pajamas and there is nobody to judge. 

This is a judge free zone guys. 

So while we’re in this judge free zone, if you don’t want to shave you don’t have to! Congratulations! 

Cheers to us who don’t need somebody to make us happy! 

With all the love in my body, 

whiskeyinateacupp xo

11 thoughts on “How To Survive Valentine’s Day”

  1. My boyfriend and I have never done a whole lot for Valentine’s day. For most of our relationship, we were long distance. We only saw each other one weekend a month. The end of February is our anniversary and that was more important to use than Valentine’s Day.

    People put too much effort into holidays, in general. Any holiday is about the people in your life, not the things you get.

Leave a Reply

