Opposites Attract

I’ve never been too sure of this statement. 

Opposites attract. 

Some days, I feel like that’s absolute bull. But then other days, it makes sense to me. 

Lately… it’s making perfect sense to me. 

Mr. Nice Guy and I am doing freakin’ amazing. The thing is though, he’s the opposite of me. 

I’m always going on and on about how I need a guy who is strong enough to handle me because I’m a handful, to say the least. Anybody who knows me personally knows this is true. One minute I’m this, the next I’m that and well you guys have read about me! So I used to say I need a guy who can match up to me, and keep up. Basically, a guy version of myself. A very dominant, strong male figure in my life. I’ve said I don’t want a guy to water me down at all. I was afraid my nice guy would do that. 

Mr. Nice Guy is not the male version of me. At all. 

He is… he is the stability. He’s the steadiness. He’s a rock. He’s more calm than I am. He’s solid. He’s strong. A gentleman. 

He doesn’t water me down. 

I believe he’s my balance. 

I believe I’m his balance. 

There’s a saying that I find applies to him and me. 

“I’ll keep you wild, you keep me safe.” 

This is us. I keep him wild and he keeps me safe. 

I am so happy I went for him. It reminds me of how my ex was when we were amazing. That showed me and made me remember what it felt like to actually be treated good. Actually, not good. Amazing. 

In this case, so far, I believe opposites attract for us. 

I can’t get over how happy I am at the moment. I am one of those people that hate talking over the phone unless I need an immediate response or is too complicated to text, but him and I talk on the phone a lot. Maybe two to five times a week, for an hour plus each conversation. I normally hate this. It just bugs me to sit down and talk on the phone because that limits what other stuff I could be getting done. Except with him, I don’t mind it. In fact, I like it. 

His voice has grown on me. I love listening to it. It’s not that deep, sex god voice but to me it’s… perfect. It’s soothing, comforting, easy going, laid back and calm. 

The last time I felt this way about a guy’s voice was my ex. I’m taking this as a good sign. 

During mine and Mr. Nice Guy’s conversations I’m pretty much smiling the whole time with parts of blushing and laughing. 

I don’t think I’ve been this genuinely happy with a guy in a long time. There is no questioning it, no lack of trust in any way, shape or form, and it just works. 

I admit, I had my doubts about him and I being together. I was afraid he wouldn’t be able to handle me or keep up, but he can. In a way, he also calms me down a little. 

He’s coming back home soon for a little bit before he has to relocate to San Francisco for six months. I’m so excited. I can’t wait to just hug him and take him in. 

I want to introduce him to my family. 

I live with my grandparents, plus parents, plus two brothers and my fur baby Annabelle. 

Bonus points? He said he’d take care of me and Annabelle. My dogs are my children and Annabelle is my fur baby and I go into mamma mode with her. We are a packaged deal and that’s a big deal for me with a guy. 

My grandparents and parents will LOVE him. 

From what I’ve told my mom, she says he’s the most gentleman-like guy I’ve talked to, along with the most respectable. 

She hated my ex. 

I can’t say enough good things and am writing this post out of giddiness. 

He’s my exception. 

-insert dreamy sigh here- 

With all the love in my body,

whiskeyinateacupp xo

 

2 thoughts on “Opposites Attract”

  1. I think I heard something about a study that disproves the idea that opposites attract. I like the idea of another person completing you vs. being the opposite of you.

    For example, two people might be into different hobbies and live in a different lifestyle, but they still share the same values and outlook on life. They’re actually very similar people. Together, their differences complete any inadequacies they have.

    I don’t know if I’m making sense… it’s not a complete theory. It’s just something rattling around in my head.

    1. No, you make total sense! There is a difference between completing somebody vs being the opposite, and that’s exactly true I think in my opinion too. Now that you say that it makes more sense than opposites attracting (:

Leave a Reply

